Tech news
at TheJemReport.com
Software reviews
at SoftwareinReview.com
Hardware reviews
at HardwareinReview.com
Discuss technology
at TJRForum.com

September 15, 2012

2012 Best Linux Distributions

Filed under: Linux Desktops — admin @ 4:12 pm

SoftwareInReview covered what we believed to be the top Linux distributions in 2011. Clearly it’s time to review our findings. A lot of people did not agree with the choices, and, to be fair, it is hard to name a “best” version of Linux because the distributions are developed for many different purposes.

  • Want an easy-to-use desktop?

Maybe Mint or Ubuntu are the choices for you.

  • Want an enterprise server?

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) and SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLESE) have a lot of great features.

  • Want a Linux distribution that lives in memory?

Puppy is a small distribution , ( with a live-CD around 85MB) that can load completely into RAM.  This distribution is very fast and now makes the top ten list of visited Linux distribution sites.

  • Want a Linux distribution for gaming?

SuperGamer, based on VectorLinux, is a live DVD this is written for gaming on Linux.  linuX-gamers Live DVD, based on Arch Linux, is another choice.

Our list of the best Linux distributions of 2011 was the most commented-on post we have had and it stirred up a lot of debate.
(more…)

April 2, 2012

2012 - Best Anti-Virus Software

Filed under: Best Anti-Virus Software — admin @ 3:18 pm

The last time SoftwareInReview looked at the top Anti-Virus Programs was in 2009, so we had another look.   SoftwareInReview has rated the programs according to the table below. These programs are all mature and all ranked very well in evaluation.  Most notable is the emergence of free Anti-Virus programs, like the AVG Anti-Virus Free 2012.  If you are looking for a free Anti-Virus program, these free products are coming closer to the commercial versions rated below, but, still not as effective as the commercial versions in our opinion.

Below you will see that we have compiled a table which shows our rating given to each Anti-Virus package as well as other information such as the price.  Note - we are not in the business of selling software, so we provide links to the respective company sites.

To see our full review for each anti-virus software simply click the review link.

Best Anti-Virus Software for 2012

Desktop Publishing Software
Price Full Review Go To Site Ease of Use User Friendliness Help/ Support Overall Rating
Webroot Secure Anywhere AntiVirus
$39.95 Review Order 5 5 5
BitDefender Antivirus Plus 2012
$49.95 Review Order 5 5 4.5
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012
$59.95 Review Order 5 4.5 4.5
Norton AntiVirus 2012 $39.99 Review Order 4.5 4.5 4.5
AVG Anti-Virus 2012
$39.95 Review Order 4.5 5 4

Winner: Webroot Secure Anywhere Antivirus

February 13, 2012

2012 - Best Privacy Programs Review

Filed under: Privacy Programs — admin @ 10:02 am

SoftwareInReview looked at privacy software programs. Listed below are our top  privacy software programs for 2012. Each program was ranked based on the ease of installation, the user friendliness and the availability of both help and support for the consumer.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program and a short review along with a link to the manufacture’s website that can be accessed by clicking on the links provided below.

Best Privacy Software for 2012

Desktop Publishing Software
Price Full Review Go To Site Ease of Use User Friendliness Help/ Support Overall Rating
Webroot Window Washer
$29.99 Review Order 5 5 5
CyberScrub Privacy Suite 5.1
$59.99 Review Order 5 5 4.5
Evidence Eliminator
$99.95 Review Order 4 4.5 5
Privacy Guardian
$29.99 Review Order 5 5 4
ParetoLogic Privacy Controls
$39.95 Review Order 4.5 4.5 4.5

Winner: Webroot Window Washer

(more…)

November 7, 2011

Best 2011 Animation Software Programs

Filed under: Best Animation Software — admin @ 7:07 pm

SoftwareInReview looked at animation software programs. Listed below are our top seven animation software programs for 2011. Each program was ranked based on the ease of installation, the user friendliness and the availability of both help and support for the consumer.
The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program and a short review along with a link to the manufacture’s website that can be accessed by clicking on the links provided below.

Best Animation Software for 2011

Animation Software
Price Full Review Go To Site Ease of Use Effectiveness Help/ Support Overall Rating
Toon Boom Studio 6
$329.99 Review Order 5 5 5
Anime Studio Debute 8 and Pro 8
$49.99, $199.99 Review Order 5 4.5 5
Claymation Studio 3.0 Deluxe
$59.99 Review Order 4.5 5 5
Animation Workshop 4.0a
$29.99 Review Order 4.5 5 4.5
Easy GIF Animator
$19.85 Review Order 4.5 4 4

(more…)

September 22, 2011

Best 2011 Photo Editing Software Programs Review

Filed under: Best Photo Editing Software — admin @ 11:37 am

SoftwareInReview looked at the top photo editing software products for home use. Listed below are the top five desktop publishing software solutions for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of installation, user friendliness, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program.  A short review of each program along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided.

(more…)

June 26, 2011

Best Desktop Publishing Software for 2011

Filed under: Best Desktop Publishing Software — admin @ 4:56 pm

SoftwareInReview looked at the top desktop publishing software products for home use. Listed below are the top five desktop publishing software solutions for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of installation, user friendliness, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program.  A short review of each program along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided.

Note: If you are looking for a high-end, professional-grade desktop publishing software tool,  this category is not evaluated here. Two candidates for the high end are Adobe InDesign CS4 and QuarkXpress. These packages offer professional capabilities.  Adobe InDesign CS4 ntegrates with Photoshop, Dreamweaver, but has a steep learning curve.

(more…)

May 30, 2011

Best 2011 Disk Defragmenter Software

Filed under: Disk Defragmenter Software — admin @ 4:12 pm

SoftwareInReview looked at Disk Defragmenter software. Listed below are our picks for the top seven disk defragmenters for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of use, effectiveness of features, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program. A short review along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided below.

(more…)

April 28, 2011

Best 2011 DVD Ripping Software

Filed under: DVD Ripping Software — admin @ 2:15 pm

SoftwareInReview looked at DVD ripping software programs. Listed below are our top seven DVD ripping programs for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of use, effectiveness of features, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program. A short review along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided below.

(more…)

April 11, 2011

Best 2011 Illustrator Software

Filed under: Illustrator Software — admin @ 10:19 am

SoftwareInReview looked at illustrator software programs. Listed below are our top six illustrator programs for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of use, effectiveness of features, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program. A short review along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided below.

(more…)

February 14, 2011

Best 2011 Data Recovery Software

Filed under: Data Recovery Software — admin @ 3:33 pm

SoftwareInReview looked at data recovery software programs. Listed below are our top seven data recovery programs for 2011. Each program was ranked based on ease of use, recovery effectiveness, and availability of help/support.

The table below provides an overall rating given to each program. We have also included the price of each program. A short review along with a link to the manufacturer’s web site can be accessed by clicking on the links provided.

(more…)

Older Posts »

| Contact Us | About Us | RSS FAQ |
Copyright 2008. All content items belong to their respective authors.